PM Modi conveys best wishes to Indian contingent taking part in Asian Games

Story by  ANI | Posted by  Tripti Nath • 2 Months ago
Prime Minister Narendra Modi
Prime Minister Narendra Modi


Varanasi (Uttar Pradesh)

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday conveyed his best wishes to the Indian contingent for the Asian games. 
The Asian Games, being hosted by China, will begin on Saturday evening.
A 655-member strong Indian contingent will be in action in 41 disciplines.
PM Modi conveyed his wishes while addressing a gathering after he laid the foundation stone of the International Cricket Stadium in Varanasi.
Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, BCCI president Roger Binny, secretary Jay Shah and vice-president Rajeev Shukla were among those present.
"Asian Games will begin from today. I send my good wishes to all the athletes participating in the Games. The success India is witnessing in sports is evidence of the change in outlook towards sports. The government is helping sportspersons at every level; TOPS is one such scheme of the government," PM Modi said.  
The thematic architecture of this stadium draws inspiration from Lord Shiva, with designs developed for crescent-shaped roof covers, trident-shaped floodlights, ghat steps-based seating, and Bilvipatra-shaped metallic sheets on the facade. The stadium will have a capacity of 30,000 spectators.
Legendary cricketers Sunil Gavaskar, and Kapil Dev, former India head coach Ravi Shastri were also present at the event.
Jay Shah and famous Indian cricketer Sachin presented Prime Minister Narendra Modi with India's ODI World Cup jersey with "NAMO" written on it.
India will field a contingent of 68 players in track and field events at the Asian Games. Athletics competitions will be held from September 29 to October 5, with the men's javelin throw final on October 4 being a key attraction due to India's 'Golden Boy' Neeraj Chopra.  
Badminton star P.V. Sindhu, boxer Lovlina Borgohain, wrestler Bajrang Punia and weightlifter Mirabai Chanu are taking part in the games.
Hurdler Jyothi Yarraji, steeplechase racer Avinash Sable, long jumper Murali Sreeshankar, former Asian champion boxer Shiva Thapa, Indian table tennis stars Manika Batra, Sharath Kamal 
and teen chess prodigy R Praggnanandhaa are some other players who will be in action