Droupadi Murmu to take oath as India’s 15th President

Story by  ATV | Posted by  Aasha Khosa | Date 25-07-2022
Droupadi Murmu
Droupadi Murmu


New Delhi

Droupadi Murmu will take oath as the 15th President of India on Monday. This is history in the making as Murmu becomes the first head of State and Supreme Commander of the armed forces of India from the scheduled tribes' community, who are among one of India's marginalized people and constitute about 8 percent of the population.
The oath taking ceremony will take place in the Central Hall of Parliament.
Murmu will be escorted by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Vice-President and Chairman of the Rajya Sabha M Venkaiah Naidu, and Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla to the Central Hall. Once Droupadi Murmu reaches there, the National Anthem will be played in the Central Hall. 

Thereafter Chief Justice of India NV Ramana will administer the oath of office to India's second woman President.
On July 22, the former Jharkhand governor Murmu registered a historic win over her rival Yashwant Sinha in the Presidential election, becoming the first woman tribal candidate and the second woman in the country to occupy the highest office in the country.
The NDA's presidential candidate Droupadi Murmu was officially declared as the 15th President of the country after the conclusion of the counting of votes on Thursday.
Droupadi Murmu is going to be the youngest President of India and the only one born after Independence. She is the second President belonging to the State of Odisha, the first one being V V Giri.
President Murmu will then address the nation at 10.30 am.
The President of India is the head of state in India. He/She is considered the first citizen of the country, acting on the advice of the Council of Ministers. According to article 60 of the constitution, the primary duty of the President of India is to uphold, defend, and preserve the Indian constitution and the law. The President appoints the Chief Justice of India and other judges on the advice of the chief justice.

The President of India is elected by the elected representatives of the parliament and the state legislature. The electoral college elects the President of India and the representation of its members is proportionate. 
The term of the President of India is of 5 years and no law can be implemented in India without the President's signature.

The outgoing President Ram Nath Kovind on Sunday hosted dinner for President-elect Droupadi Murmu, Vice President Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, and the Union council of ministers at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in Delhi.avan in Delhi.