IPL 2024: SRK’s KKR outclass Hyderabad to lift trophy third time

Story by  IANS | Posted by  Aasha Khosa | Date 27-05-2024
Kolkata Knight Riders team with their trophy (BCCI)
Kolkata Knight Riders team with their trophy (BCCI)



Kolkata Knight Riders outplayed Sunrisers Hyderabad in all departments to clinch their third IPL championship with a comprehensive eight-wicket win in a relatively one-sided IPL 2024 title clash at the MA Chidambaram Stadium on Sunday.

KKR’s bowlers, led by stellar spells from Andre Russell (3-19), Mitchell Starc (2-14) & Harshit Rana (2-24), bowled out SRH for just 113, the lowest total in an IPL final. In reply, the batters, led by Venkatesh Iyer’s 52 not out off 26 balls, chased down the total in just 10.3 overs to make it the second time the side won an IPL title in Chennai.

On a red-soil pitch, only winning the toss was the lone right thing for SRH as they never got any partnership or momentum to post the lowest total in an IPL final. Starc and Vaibhav Arora bowled consistently in the good length area, and had the ball swinging continuously, followed by others getting grip to leave SRH in tatters.

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) co-owner Shah Rukh Khan celebrated his team's third title Indian Premier League (IPL) victory at the MA Chidambaram Stadium on Sunday and the superstar could not stop himself from showering love on his team members.

A video of the moment when KKR clinched the trophy on X:

After the match, KKR co-owner celebrated with each member of the team and even kissed mentor Gautam Gambhir's forehead. Gambhir's return did wonders for KKR this year. Their third title celebrations began at the same ground Chepauk where they lifted thier maiden title in 2012 under the leadership of Gambhir.

President of the BCCI Jay Shah congratulated the KKR team and made a special mention of Captain Shrey Iyer in his message on X:

KKP Captain Shreyas Iyer gave a special mention to the "heartbeat" of the team, co-owner Shah Rukh Khan following their IPL 2024 triumph.

On a humid night with clouds hovering over Chepauk, KKR lifted their third title under the leadership of Shreyas Iyer after thumping Sunrisers Hyderabad in the final of the tournament with an 8-wicket win.

The Bollywood icon has been a constant face in the KKR matches. He has turned up for the majority of their matches across the nation to support his franchise. SRK even turned up in the dressing room to raise the team's spirit after they endured defeat in their group stage campaign.

After the win, Shreyas took to X to give a special mention to SRK and thanked him for his words of inspiration and encouragement.

"Special mention to the heartbeat of this team @iamsrk! Thank you for all your words of inspiration and encouragement," Iyer wrote on X.

After winning the title back after a ten-year absence, the players' emotions were at an all-time high, which added to the title's specialness.

On the same ground in 2012, KKR had clinched their maiden title, and on May 26, 2024, they scripted an encore to lift their third trophy. The KKR bowlers did extremely well to restrict the dangerous SRH batting line-up to 113 - which was chased down in only 10.3 overs with eight wickets in hand.

After the match, KKR's star all-rounder Andre Russell struggled to hold back tears and he expressed gratitude towards the franchise after clinching the third trophy with the team.

Russell lauded his teammates' discipline and their work towards one goal. The KKR all-rounder also said the victory was a big gift from him to the Kolkata team management as the franchise had done a lot for him.
"No words to describe [holds his tears]. It means so much. I am happy that all of us were very disciplined and worked towards one goal. This franchise has done a lot for me. It's a big gift from all of us to them," Russell told the broadcaster after the game.

TMC chief and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee lavished praise on the Kolkata Knight Riders after they clinched their third Indian Premier League title.

On a night when clouds were hovering over Chepauk, KKR lifted their third title under the leadership of Shreyas Iyer after thumping Sunrisers Hyderabad in the final of the tournament with an 8-wicket win at Chepauk.

Mamata took to X and heaped praise on the team to personally congratulate the players as well as the staff for their remarkable season.

"Kolkata Knight Riders' win has brought about an air of celebration all across Bengal. I would like to personally congratulate the players, the support staff and the franchise for their record-breaking performance in this season of the IPL. Wishing for more such enchanting victories in the years to come!" Mamata wrote on X.